Want Balance? Get a Stomp Pad!

In my past post I’m sure you took a look at my board! You might have been wondering what the black square is on the bottom of it. Stomp pads are the small rectangular padding you see at the bottom of most carbon and silicone boards. You might be asking yourself..what are these for? These pads are crucial for your balance. They give you stability, grip and most importantly balance when you jump onto the board. Referring to my previous post What is Skim boarding where I explained how to ride a skim board, when you start running towards the water and drop your board, the hardest part is successfully getting on the board. Within seconds of dropping the board down the rider is jumping on it. The stomp pad gives the rider grip and traction for this crucial moment of jumping on the board. If a rider doesn’t get good grip on the board there balance will be completely off and I can almost guaranty the rider falling and eating sand/getting water up down and through there mouth and nose. My favorite part of stomp pads are the fact that they come in so many different colors! These are my kind of accessories!!!

Picture by: http://skimonline.com/forum/showthread.php?8-SHOW-YOUR-BOARD-(part-two)/page404

Leave a comment